Rusty Haggard Blog

Great Movie, Mind-Blowing Ending: “Remember Me”

I checked out this film on Showtime last night, thinking it might be a crime story. What I ended up thinking is, “Wow, this is a great film.” The ending, however, (and I won’t reveal it here) is freaky, and one that brings up strong emotions. Or it should for most viewers.

Within the first view minutes, the crime story seems to hold sway. New York City. Subway. Okay, I’m thinking, let’s figure this out. After the initial crime, a cop shows up. So far, so good. Then we switch to two college guys and their ambling lives. Drinks, drinks and yeah, drunk. Fights. Arrests.

And then the girl shows up. College girl, unknown to our two college guys so far. Things start drifting from a crime scene to romance. Then it gets complicated. I’ll leave the plot for now.

What I was impressed with was the writing, acting and directing. Especially the acting. One of the stars of the “Twilight” movies, Robert Pattinson, (I haven’t seen that series of films) gives one of the best performances by an actor I’ve seen in a long time. Equally impressive is Emilie de Ravin as the college girl. Pierce Brosnan shows his range: a high-end New York lawyer, cold as ice in his $4000 Italian suits – convincing as an uncaring, suave and detached divorced father with little time for his children, regardless if they’re struggling college students like his son Tyler (Pattinson) or a sensitive 11-year-old daughter, who loses herself in art simply because she thinks that her father has no interest in her. And then there’s Chris Cooper, who is always good.

It’s a strong movie, with many engrossing scenes that pull you in. As the ending takes shape, you realize that you’re probably in deeper than you want to be. Or deeper than you want to think about. “Remember Me” is a film you should watch!

2 responses

  1. Anonymous

    I thought this movie was fabulous! Like you, I had no idea what I was watching – which may have been the reason it became so captivating and so surprising. I was not expecting the end at all. I think it’s called a “sleeper” of a movie, but I highly recommend. Great acting, great emotion, just heartwarming.

    June 29, 2014 at 6:36 pm

  2. Susan Harris

    Ah, that was my comment above.

    June 29, 2014 at 6:38 pm

Leave a Reply

